Main Features Interviews Forums Links Contacts

Visitor Information
News Features
Classic Section
TT History
TT Map
TT Fun Page

Ladies In Racing

Listen To The TT Here
The latest news from the Isle of Man
Join the TT Supporters Cleb

Practice Week: Aug 21 - Aug 27
Race Week: Aug 28 - Sept 3
Practice Week: May 28 - June 1
Race Week: June 2 - June 8
Thinking Of Using Your Mobile On Island, Then Check Here For Some Important Information From Manx Telecom, Before You Travel.  Click Here....
Hat-trick Hutchinson continues to dominate TT Races with Monster Energy Supersport Race 2 win
Author TTwebsite
Wednesday, Jun 10, 2015 3:14 pm
Hat-trick Hutchinson continues to dominate TT Races with Monster Energy Supersport Race 2 win

Ian Hutchinson completed a hat-trick of wins at the 2015 Isle of Man TT Races, fuelled by Monster Energy, when he won the second Monster Energy Supersport race on Wednesday afternoon. The Team Traction Control Yamaha rider took his 11th TT victory by 14.8s from Bruce Anstey with Guy Martin taking his first podium of the week in third.

At Glen Helen on the opening lap, as has often been the case this week, it was the Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki of James Hillier that led, his gap over Hutchinson one second with Anstey in third only a tenth further back. Gary Johnson, Martin and Dean Harrison completed the top six although the latter was soon out at Ballaugh.

By Ramsey, Hutchinson was in the lead by a second from Hillier as Anstey closed to within two tenths of a second and with an opening lap of 127.093mph, the Bingley rider held a 3.8s advantage. Anstey was now up to second as Hillier slipped four seconds further back and was now coming under pressure from Martin. Gary Johnson and Lee Johnston were holding onto fifth and sixth but Michael Dunlop, whose participation was in doubt, retired at the pits.

With perfect conditions all round the course, Hutchinson pressed on during lap two and extended his lead throughout. Indeed, in what would prove to be the fastest lap of the race, 127.751mph, the gap to Anstey, who also lapped at more than 127mph, was over eight seconds as they came into refuel at the end of lap two. Martin had moved ahead of Hillier for third whilst Johnson and Johnston maintained station.

Hutchinson added a couple of seconds to his lead by the time they swept round Ramsey Hairpin for a third time but Kiwi Anstey went up and down the Mountain quicker and had brought the deficit down to 8.6s as they headed into the final lap.

Martin, Hillier, Johnson and Johnston were all secure in third to sixth with a good battle for seventh taking place between the Hondas of John McGuinness, Conor Cummins and Dan Kneen.

At the head of the field though, Hutchinson wasn't to be denied and once he realised Anstey was charging, he turned up the wick and came home the winner by an eventual 14.8s. Anstey took his fourth podium of the week in second once more with Martin getting third on the Smiths Racing Triumph.

Hillier put in his best ever Supersport ride to take fourth with Johnson and Johnston in fifth and sixth as they had been for much of the race. Cummins got the verdict for seventh by just 0.04s from team-mate McGuinness with Kneen and David Johnson completing the top ten.

Hutchinson's win saw him move on to 95 points in the race for the TT Championship, some 23 points clear of Anstey with Hillier holding onto third on 52 points.

Meanwhile, Dan Cooper continues to lead the TT Privateer's Championship with 81 points, 11 clear of Jamie Hamilton, the duo finishing 15th and 14th respectively in today's race


Ian Hutchinson celebarting his Supersport Race 2 win

Ian Hutchinson on his way to the win

Bruce Anstey at the Gooseneck on the way to a 2nd place finish

Guy Martin on the Smiths Triumph approaching the Gooseneck

Pictures by Dave Kneen and Pacemaker Press

TTwebsite cannot accept responsibility for the accuracy of views or information provided by users of the forums. All views and information expressed in users postings represent the opinions of the users concerned and do not necessarily represent the views of TTwebsite.
© All content TT Website