Main Features Interviews Forums Links Contacts

Visitor Information
News Features
Classic Section
TT History
TT Map
TT Fun Page

Ladies In Racing

Listen To The TT Here
The latest news from the Isle of Man
Join the TT Supporters Cleb

Practice Week: Aug 21 - Aug 27
Race Week: Aug 28 - Sept 3
Practice Week: May 28 - June 1
Race Week: June 2 - June 8
Thinking Of Using Your Mobile On Island, Then Check Here For Some Important Information From Manx Telecom, Before You Travel.  Click Here....
Record Entries for Blackfords Pre TT Classic Races
Author TTwebsite
Monday, Apr 25, 2016 2:52 pm
Record Entries for Blackfords Pre TT Classic Races
 Full grids are guaranteed at the Blackford Financial Services Pre TT Classic Road Races with nearly 270 entries having been received for the prestigious Classic event which annually brings the Isle of Man TT Festival to life.

The nine race programme caters for single cylinder 250cc & 350cc machines, Lightweight 250cc, Junior 350cc, Senior 500cc, 850cc Classics, Classic Superbike's and Sidecars.

The Solo races remain the same as the successful format of the previous years, whilst the Sidecar competitors once again have two four-lap races, one on the Saturday afternoon with the second being run on the Monday afternoon for the Camathias Cup is one of six rounds being held in the Isle of Man, England, Belgium, France, Germany and Holland during 2016.

As in previous years a Solo Support Race has been included in Monday’s race programme to cater for the number of entries received.

Long time competitor, Aermacchi specialist Bill Swallow equalled the long standing record of 15 victories at this meeting in 2012 and joins Bob Heath at top of the list - Bill will be hoping to add another win to his tally this year and move to the top of the table.

Bill Swallow - Aermacchi

Mike Hose, with 11 wins to his credit and Alan Oversby with 10 will also be hoping to add to their winning tallies as they close on the Yorkshire rival.

Veteran competitor Ted Fenwick returns with his faithful 250cc Ducati single aiming to make it to the top-step of the podium after a fine victory last year and adding to his three-in-a-row race wins in 2009, 2010 & 2011 carrying the number ‘88’ plate this year.

Other previous winners returning this year include Chris McGahan, Ewan Hamilton, Alan ‘Bud’ Jackson, Terry Kermode, Rich Hawkins, James Cowton and Paul Coward.

Jamie Coward returns on the race winning 750 Mistral Kawasaki which he rode to victory in last year’s 4-Hire Superbike Post Classic Race - the same machine taking Dean Harrison to the chequered flag in 2014.

The Blackford’s Pre TT Classic has attracted a total of 22 Newcomers in the races this year, including six Sidecar crews all of whom will enjoy ‘the Billown Experience’ for the first of hopefully many return visits in the future.

The ever popular Sidecar races have attracted 28 entries including last year’s double winner winner Eddy Wright with no less than six crews from Switzerland, Germany, France and The Netherlands taking part.

Double Winners 2015 Eddy Wright & Kieran Clark lead Rod Bellas & Dean Kilkenny
Through Great Meadow
(Peter Faragher)

The 2016 event commences on Friday Evening 27th May with the first Practice session and continues on Saturday Afternoon 28th May with the final practice, followed by the first two races of the event, the 350cc and 250cc Singles race over six laps and the opening Sidecar race over four laps.

Bank Holiday Monday 28th May sees a full day of racing action, with the meeting concluding with the Prize Presentation and Concours d' Elegance in Castletown Square on Tuesday Afternoon between 2.00pm and 4.00pm.

TTwebsite cannot accept responsibility for the accuracy of views or information provided by users of the forums. All views and information expressed in users postings represent the opinions of the users concerned and do not necessarily represent the views of TTwebsite.
© All content TT Website