Main Features Interviews Forums Links Contacts

Visitor Information
News Features
Classic Section
TT History
TT Map
TT Fun Page

Ladies In Racing

Listen To The TT Here
The latest news from the Isle of Man
Join the TT Supporters Cleb

Practice Week: Aug 21 - Aug 27
Race Week: Aug 28 - Sept 3
Practice Week: May 28 - June 1
Race Week: June 2 - June 8
Thinking Of Using Your Mobile On Island, Then Check Here For Some Important Information From Manx Telecom, Before You Travel.  Click Here....
Hutchinson breaks race record to win Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 1
Author TTwebsite
Monday, Jun 6, 2016 4:04 pm
Hutchinson breaks race record to win Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 1
 Ian Hutchinson took his 12th TT win on Monday morning when he dominated the Monster Energy Supersport race from start to finish. The CAME BPT Yamaha rider defeated Michael Dunlop by 14.3s in a race-record winning time with Silicone Engineering rider Dean Harrison taking third.

Hutchinson signalled his intentions from the off and by Glen Helen on the opening lap, he’d already opened up a three-second lead over Harrison with Dunlop a further tenth back in third as James Hillier, Lee Johnston and John McGuinness completed the top six. Michael Rutter was reported out at Ballacraine though with Peter Hickman stopping at Greeba making adjustments and eventually retiring on the opening lap.

At the head of the field Hutchinson was pressing on, extending his advantage all the time and with a lap of 127.872mph, his lead was now over ten seconds as Dunlop moved up to second with Harrison dropping back to third. Hillier, Johnston and McGuinness maintained their places in the top six.

Dunlop was unable to make any inroads into Hutchinson’s lead, which was seen with the Bingley Bullet’s second lap at 128.72mph, extending his lead to 12.8s with Dunlop enjoying a similar gap to Harrison. Conor Cummins moved into fourth ahead of Hillier and McGuinness while the second lap saw a number of high profile retirements including Bruce Anstey, Ivan Lintin, Martin Jessopp and Dan Cooper.

The leading duo matched each other in the pits and by Ramsey on the third lap Hutchinson lead was over ten seconds and the Yorkshireman was also at the front of the pack on the roads, having overhauled Hillier, McGuinness and Anstey on the first two laps. Harrison was comfortable in third and a lot of attention fell on the battle for fourth with little to choose between Cummins, Hillier and McGuinness.

With conditions on the island again perfect, Hutchinson could ride to his signals in the closing lap and a half and although he encountered traffic on the final lap, he duly came home for his 12th TT win – his seventh in the Supersport class – by over 14 seconds from Dunlop who had a 38.6s gap over Harrison.

The battle for fourth went all the way to the wire before Hillier secured it by the narrow margin of 0.7s from Cummins with McGuinness only a further four seconds back in sixth.

Lee Johnston, William Dunlop, Steve Mercer and Gary Johnson rounded out the top ten with the latter losing valuable time in the pits when his Triumph refused to fire at the end of the second lap.

Dan Hegarty had been running in an excellent tenth and looked like he’d again take the maximum points in the TT Privateer’s Championship but he unluckily retired at Glen Helen on the final lap and that allowed 12th placed James Cowton to take the 25 points followed by Jamie Coward (13th) and Rob Hodson (14th).

Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 1: Ian Hutchinson in the winner's enclosure

Monster Energy Supersport TT Race 1: The winners enclosure, Dean Harrison (3rd), Ian Hutchinson (1st) and Michael Dunlop (2nd)

One for the boys !!!!

Revised Results due to ACU Statement



ACU Events Ltd can confirm that two competitors have been disqualified from today’s Supersport Race 1 at the Isle of Man TT Races.

Michael Dunlop has been excluded from the results for a technical infringement identified during post race examination.

ACU Events Ltd do not believe that there was a deliberate attempt to gain an unfair advantage and no significant performance advantage was gained.

As a result of this disqualification, Dean Harrison moves up to second place with James Hillier now taking the final podium position.

In addition Rob Hodson, who finished 14th in the same race, has also been disqualified from the race having been found to have been running a significantly oversized engine.

Revised 123

1st - Ian Hutchinson
2nd - Dean Harrison
3rd - James Hillier


TTwebsite cannot accept responsibility for the accuracy of views or information provided by users of the forums. All views and information expressed in users postings represent the opinions of the users concerned and do not necessarily represent the views of TTwebsite.
© All content TT Website