Main Features Interviews Forums Links Contacts

Visitor Information
News Features
Classic Section
TT History
TT Map
TT Fun Page

Ladies In Racing

Listen To The TT Here
The latest news from the Isle of Man
Join the TT Supporters Cleb

Practice Week: Aug 21 - Aug 27
Race Week: Aug 28 - Sept 3
Practice Week: May 28 - June 1
Race Week: June 2 - June 8
Thinking Of Using Your Mobile On Island, Then Check Here For Some Important Information From Manx Telecom, Before You Travel.  Click Here....
Author TTwebsite
Saturday, Jun 11, 2016 12:06 pm
 Ivan Lintin won the four-lap Bennetts Lightweight TT race at the 2016 Isle of Man TT Races fuelled by Monster Energy on Wednesday evening, the second year in a row for both him and Devitt RC Express Racing – and third in total for the team – as he came home 12.4s ahead of James Hillier. Yeovil’s Martin Jessopp, on the Riders Motorcycles Kawasaki claimed third for his maiden TT podium.

Morning mist had seen the race pushed back to a 6.30pm start and at Glen Helen on the opening lap, it was Lintin who led but it was close with his advantage over Hillier just 0.33s while Michael Rutter was only a further tenth of a second back in third. Italian Stefano Bonetti jumped up the order into fourth on the Paton with Daniel Cooper and Gary Johnson rounding out the top six but Danny Webb and Mark Miller were already reported to be out on the opening lap.

By Ramsey, there was a change at the front of the field with Hillier in the lead from Lintin with Rutter still in third and with an opening lap speed of 118.864mph, it was the Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki rider who led at the end of the first lap. Lintin was now 2.1s adrift in second with Johnson, Bonetti, Martin Jessopp and Cooper completing the top six with Rutter having retired at Brandywell.

The difference between Hillier and Lintin remained negligible throughout the second lap with the margin varying between the timing points. Indeed, Lintin had reduced the gap to 1.1s at Ramsey Hairpin and as they came into their pit stop at the end of the second lap, just 1.4s separated the pair but Lintin was now the new race leader. Johnson was still holding onto third ahead of Jessopp, Bonetti and Cooper.

A quicker pit stop by the Devitt RC Express Racing team gave Lintin some breathing space and by Glen Helen on the third lap, his lead over Hillier had gone out to 8.2s. Jessopp’s pit crew also put in a rapid turn around and he moved into third ahead of Johnson.

At the head of the field, the gap between Lintin and Hillier now remained constant and the race was all about these two as Jessopp, although now in third, was over a minute back. Italian Bonetti on the Paton regained fourth with Johnson dropping to fifth although with a healthy gap over sixth placed Cooper.

Lintin was pressing on ahead though and, riding to his signals, he wasn’t to be denied his second successive win in the class, also making it three in a row for the team after Dean Harrison’s triumph in 2014. Lintin’s win also made him the first man to win the Lightweight race more than once since it was re-introduced in 2012.

Hillier was secure in second but the battle for third went all the way to the chequered flag and it eventually went the way of Jessopp by just over two seconds from Johnson with Bonetti and Cooper rounding out the top six.

Jamie Coward, Colin Stephenson, Bjorn Gunnarsson, and James Cowton completed the top ten.

Bennetts Lightweight TT: Martin Jessopp, Ivan Lintin and James Hillier in the winners' enclosure

Ivan Lintin leaves the line to start the Bennetts Lightweight Isle of Man TT

Bennetts Lightweight TT: James Hillier at Gingerhall in the Bennetts Lightweight TT

Bennetts Lightweight TT: Martin Jessopp at Gingerhall in the Bennetts Lightweight TT


TTwebsite cannot accept responsibility for the accuracy of views or information provided by users of the forums. All views and information expressed in users postings represent the opinions of the users concerned and do not necessarily represent the views of TTwebsite.
© All content TT Website