Main Features Interviews Forums Links Contacts

Visitor Information
News Features
Classic Section
TT History
TT Map
TT Fun Page

Ladies In Racing

Listen To The TT Here
The latest news from the Isle of Man
Join the TT Supporters Cleb

Practice Week: Aug 21 - Aug 27
Race Week: Aug 28 - Sept 3
Practice Week: May 28 - June 1
Race Week: June 2 - June 8
Thinking Of Using Your Mobile On Island, Then Check Here For Some Important Information From Manx Telecom, Before You Travel.  Click Here....
TEAM MUGEN announces participation in the 2018 TT Zero Challenge class
Author TTwebsite
Saturday, Apr 7, 2018 4:00 pm
TEAM MUGEN announces participation in the 2018 TT Zero Challenge class
The new machine this year is installed with a front cowl having better cooling efficiency, and newly designed side and rear cowls with improved aerodynamics compared to those of the previous machine. At the same time the new machine is designed to maximize the potential of the battery capacity. TEAM MUGEN will challenge the five successive year’s winning at the Isle of Man TT Zero race and try to set a new lap record.

Three riders are to take part in the race. The first rider is Bruce Anstey who won the races in year 2016 and 2017 in a row, and the second rider is John McGuinness who has won the TT race for 23 times, one of the legends in the Isle of Man TT race. And the third rider is Lee Johnston coming from the Norther Ireland who has taken part in the North West 200 many times.

The Isle of Man TT Race (The Isle of Man Tourist Trophy Race) TT Zero Challenge

The Isle of Man TT race, which started in 1907, is the oldest high-speed motorcycle race that is still currently held. The isle, which is located in between the United Kingdom and Ireland, is about the same size as the Awaji-shima island of Japan.The races are held in a time trial format on a 60 km public street course that includes urban zones, residential areas, and a mountain section. The event was resumed in 1947, after the end of World War II, as part of the Motorcycle Grand Prix World Championship, and was soon an irresistible competitive challenge for the Japanese motorcycle manufacturers to demonstrate their technical abilities, and the riders with their courage.

As a result of their successes in the Isle of Man TT it has served as a foundation for the Japanese motorcycle industry, from which it has made the leap to the pinnacle of world class motorcycle manufacture and competition.

The TT Zero Challenge class is a new category that was started in 2009 in anticipation of the future of the age of clean energy. In this category, machines are required to be equipped with a power plant emitting zero carbon dioxide.

Though races for conventional internal-combustion engine classes can range from three to six laps, the race distance for the TT Zero Challenge class is currently one lap (approximately 60 km) in deference to current technology battery performance and capacity.


1 Bruce Anstey
2 Lee Johnston
3 John McGuinness

Director - Akihiro Miyata


Shinden Nana with better cooling efficiency and aerodynamics compared with the Shinden Roku winning the 2017 TT Zero race.
Potential of the battery capacity of the new machine is also maximized.

General Specifications

Machine Name : (SHINDEN NANA)
Overall Length/width/height (mm): 2,125 / 680 / 1,130
Ground Clearance (mm) : 130
Seat Height (mm) : 810
Total Weight (kg) : 248
Tire (Front) : 120/70ZR17M/C (58W)
Tire (Rear) : 200/55ZR17M/C (78W)
Frame : CFRP Monocoque frame
Motor Type : Oil-cooled, 3-phase, Brushless Motor
Maximum Output (kW[ps]) : 120[163.2]
Maximum Torque (N・m[kgf・m]) : 210[21.4]
Battery Specification : Laminate-type Lithium-ion
Battery Output Voltage (V) : 370 or more

Riders’ profiles

Bruce Anstey
DOB: 1969.4.24
Birthplace: Wellington, New Zealand

Debuted at the Isle of Man TT in 1996. As of now he won the TT race for 12 times.
He has been winning TT Zero race two successive years, 2016 and 2017.

Lee Johnston

DOB: 1989.3.10
Birthplace: Maguiresbridge, Northern Ireland

He won the British super-stock 600 in 2008. Debuted at the public road race, the North West 200 in 2008.
His debut in the Isle of Man TT was in 2013. He also took part in the TT Zero race in year 2015.

John McGuinness
DOB: 1972.4.16
Birthplace: Morecambe, Lancashire, England

Debuted at the Isle of Man TT in 1996. As of now he has won the race for 23rd times.
One of the legends of the TT race. Winner of TT Zero in 2014 and 2015


TTwebsite cannot accept responsibility for the accuracy of views or information provided by users of the forums. All views and information expressed in users postings represent the opinions of the users concerned and do not necessarily represent the views of TTwebsite.
© All content TT Website