Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map

McGuinness moves up to third at Oulton Park

Author: HM Plant Honda Press Release
Posted on: Tuesday, May 02 2006

The Morecambe-based rider, who qualified in second, was unfortunate at the start and forced to concede a couple of places as the 36-strong field headed to the first turn. On the opening lap the safety car was deployed for three laps, due to a number of incidents which witnessed six competitors crash out.

Despite losing a couple of places, McGuinness made amends and came home in a strong fifth place, once again confirming the competitiveness of his HM Plant Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade.

McGuinness: ďMaybe I should have been a little bit more aggressive at the beginning as I got caught up in some heavy traffic. Iím pleased with the overall result; the consistent pace is now paying off and Iím third in the Championship standings. There were a lot of crashes out there today and Iím happy to bring the bike, and myself, home in one piece as I have some important road races ahead of me in a couple of weeks time.Ē

Neil Tuxworth: ďAgain another good result for John and more championship points. We are pleased with the results here this weekend and once again it shows that everything is going according to plan with our National Superstock campaign.Ē

Metzeler National Superstock Result

1, Brendan Roberts (Suzuki) 26m26.674s,
2, Ian Hutchinson (Suzuki) +6.390s,
3, Howie Mainwaring (Yamaha) +6.730s,
4, Steve Allan (Yamaha) +10.908s,
5, John McGuinness (HM Plant Honda) +12.692s,
6, Marshall Neill (Suzuki) +15.985s,
7, Hudson Kennaugh (Yamaha) +16.153s,
8, Lee Jackson (Kawasaki) +16.329s,
9, Adam Jenkinson (Kawasaki) +16.519s,
10, Craig Fitzpatrick (Yamaha) +26.812s.

Fastest Lap: Brendan Roberts 1m40.552s (96.38mph)

Metzeler National Superstock Championship Standings (after Round 4)
1, Brendan Roberts 72pts
2, Lee Jackson 51pts
3, John McGuinness 40pts
4, Steve Brogan 38pts
=, Craig Fitzpatrick 38pts
6, Hudson Kennaugh 37pts
7, Ian Hutchinson 33pts
8, John Laverty 31pts
9, Adam Jenkinson 27pts
10, Adrian Coates 20pts
=, Luke Quigley 20pts

The next round of the Metzeler National Superstock Championship takes place at Mondello Park in three weeks time (21/22 May)

View all news articles

© TT Website All Rights Reserved