Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map

TT2006 Saturday Night Practice

Author: Department of Tourism & Leisure - Press Office
Posted on: Sunday, May 28 2006

Martin’s speed stood as the fastest of the night for much of the session until Ian Hutchinson went slightly quicker on his Kawasaki at 118.261 miles an hour which he then increased to 120.160 on his Junior Supersport Kawasaki. However, last year’s Superbike winner John McGuinness served notice that he would be the man they all had to beat when he lapped at 122.013 on his Honda Fireblade.

The organisers continued their policy of starting the first practice session with a lap for newcomers, escorted by travelling marshals. Consequently, the honour of getting the 2006 TT meeting underway fell to Hungarian Sandor Bitter from Budapest on his Suzuki Superbike – resplendent in his blue leathers containing the TT logo.

When it was the turn of the more experienced riders first out were Manx riders Gary Carswell and Chris Heath. One Isle of Man rider making his debut was Conor Cummins who recorded a 100 miles an hour lap on his first trip round the TT Course – 104.966 to be precise. He was to go even faster later in the practice at 108.751 which made him, comfortably, the fastest newcomer of the night – and all this on Conor’s 20th birthday!

Dave Molyneux and Craig Hallam led the way in the sidecars at 112.934, just marginally outside a sub 20 minutes lap.

The American sidecar crew of Doug Dano and James Cornell crashed at May Hill, Ramsey. Dano was said to be ‘stable’ while Cornell’s condition was described as serious. Jeff Jones from Maesteg came off his Superbike machine on the exit from Governor’s Bridge and was taken to hospital by ambulance. His condition was described as stable.

The night’s fastest laps were –

TT Superbike: John McGuinness, Honda, 122.013; Ian Hutchinson, Kawasaki, 118.261; Guy Martin, Yamaha, 118.023.

TT Supersport: Ian Hutchinson, Kawasaki, 120.160; Adrian Archibald, Suzuki,118.134; Bruce Anstey, Suzuki, 116.337.

TT Superstock: Bruce Anstey, Suzuki, 120.548; Guy Martin, Yamaha, 118.574; Jason Griffiths, Yamaha, 116.882.

Sidecars: Dave Molyneux/Craig Hallam 112.934; Gary Bryan/Colin Hardman 104.688; Phil Dongworth/Stuart Castles 104.337.

A total of 201 machines went through scrutineering. The Superbikes led the way at 66 followed by Supersport (60), Sidecars (53) and Superstocks (22).

Practice Times available by clicking on the links below.

These are pdf files so you will need Adobe Acrobat/Reader to open them.

Sidecar Times

Superbike Times

Supersport Times

Superstock Times

View all news articles

TT Website All Rights Reserved