Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts
Visitor Info
MGP Message Board
TT Chat Room
Ladies in Racing
TT History
TT Map

Read the latest local news here.

TT Supporters Club Merchandise Sale

The TT Supporters Club


As we all know by now, the Manx Grand Prix is cancelled for 2001, so we thought we would take the opportunity to have a look back at last years action, from what many people believe was one of the best Manx Grand Prix's ever.

Glen English from Cornwall dominated today's Senior Classic Manx Grand Prix with a start to finish victory aboard his 500 Molnar Manx Norton. It was English's first Manx Classic win although he has come close on several occasions.

The man that usually beats English and the rest of his rivals to the chequred flag, Bill Swallow was the pre race favourite, but by Glen Helen on the first lap, it was English to everyone's surprise that was leading the race. By Ramsey, such was the pace English was setting, he already had Bill Swallow in his sights. Back in third position was flying Scot Wattie Brown on another Manx Norton, followed by a group including Tony Myres, John Goodall, Graham Wilson, Derek Whalley and surprise of the race, Robert Price, who started at number 70!

Back at the front English rode a perfect race following Swallow around the circuit, preserving the Norton's motor. He eventually took the chequered by fifteen seconds from Swallow on corrected time with Wattie Brown claiming the final podium position some two minutes further back. Race sensation Robert Price's 500 Honda engine eventually cried enough and John Goodall broke down for only the third time in nearly thirty years of Manx Grand Prix racing. This left Frenchman Bruno Leroy into fourth, record replica winner, Mick Robinson was fifth, Tony Myres sixth and local rider Barry Wood a satisfying seventh.

1Glen English500 Molnar Manx1:25:51.4105.46
2Bill Swallow499 Petty Manx1:26:06.1105.16
3Wattie Brown500 Petty Manx1:28:03.0102.84
4Bruno Leroy500 Norton1:28:31.9102.28
5Mick Robinson498 Norton1:28:45.7102.01
6Tony Myers499 Molnar Norton1:30:13.0100.37
FASTEST LAPBill Swallow499 Petty Manx21:16.4106.41
CLUB TEAM AWARDSCRMCBill SwallowWattie BrownGraham Wilson

Post your views on the TT Website Message Board To comment on this article please use the
MGP Message Board

Back to Features Index

© TT Website