Main Features Interviews Forums Links Contacts

Visitor Information
News Features
Classic Section
TT History
TT Map
TT Fun Page
Ladies In Racing

Listen To The TT Here
The latest news from the Isle of Man
Join the TT Supporters Cleb

Practice Week: From Mon 27th May
Race Week: Sat 1st - Sat 8th  Jun
Practice Week: From Sun 18th Aug
Race Weekend: From Fri 23rd Aug
2023 LATEST - Sadly the irreplaceable long term dedicated owner of this site (Malcolm) passed away in 2022. Prior to TT2023 we have only just gained access to the administration. Please see the forum for latest news.Click Here....
New Lightweight TT Race establishes itself with star-studded line-up
Author TTwebsite
Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 8:58 pm
New Lightweight TT Race establishes itself with star-studded line-up
KMR Kawasaki’s Ryan Farquhar is an early favourite for honours, given his track record and the fact he’s been a major flag bearer of the class. He will be bidding for TT win number three but can expect tough opposition from a number of riders, not least his new team-mate Michael Rutter. In another terrific coup for the race, the Midlands based Rutter, a double TT winner himself, will ride a Farquhar-prepared ER6 Kawasaki. This will be his only appearance in the Supertwin class in 2012, and he will certainly be a potential race winner.

Another early contender for the race win will be Northern Ireland favourite Michael Dunlop. Winner of the 2011 Royal London 360 Superstock Race, Michael Dunlop has announced he too will contest the new 3-lap race on an ER6 while brother William, who will be chasing his first TT podium, has also entered with an ER6.

Cameron Donald and Ian Lougher are two more TT winners who have confirmed their entry in the class on the Kawasaki machines, the Australian riding for the DP Coldplaning team and the veteran Welshman in the colours of Stewart Smith Racing.

Indeed, the Kawasaki is the most popular choice of machine with James Hillier riding another bike prepared by Farquhar although he will run it in his regular Bournemouth Pr1mo Kawasaki livery. Last year’s fastest newcomer, Simon Andrews, 3 times TT winner Adrian Archibald and Irish road race aces John Burrows and Davy Morgan can also be expected to feature on the leaderboard on their ER6 bikes.

Although Kawasaki’s dominate the entry, Suzuki will have a strong presence with their hopes resting with Dan Kneen and Ben Wylie. The young duo not only have a great chance of spoiling Kawasaki’s hopes, but also claiming their first TT podium in Friday’s 3-lap race.

Meanwhile, a number of leading privateers have, as hoped, embraced the new class with Ian Mackman, Ian Pattinson, Paul Shoesmith, Russ Mountford, Rob Barber, Stephen Thompson, Dean Harrison and the returning Olie Linsdell all entering. TT Rider Liaison Officer John Barton will also contest the race whilst newcomer Jamie Hamilton will be the third orange and black KMR Kawasaki lining up on Glencrutchery Road. Winner of the corresponding race at last year’s Manx Grand Prix, Dave Moffit, is also amongst the entry.

Paul Phillips, TT and Motorsport Development Manager, Isle of Man Government commented:

“We’re really pleased with the quality of the line-up, which is exactly what we’d hoped for when we announced the race. We’ve had great response from teams and riders and this race already looks like being one of the highlights of this year’s event.”

TTwebsite cannot accept responsibility for the accuracy of views or information provided by users of the forums. All views and information expressed in users postings represent the opinions of the users concerned and do not necessarily represent the views of TTwebsite.
© All content TT Website