Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map

Rainman Rutter reigns

Author: Bennetts Press Release
Posted on: Monday, Jun 30 2008

The opening race of the day ran in dry conditions and produced familiar results with Shakey Byrne claiming the top step of the podium, followed by HM Plant Honda team-mates Leon Haslam and Cal Crutchlow respectively. Drama came in the form of an opening lap crash for Leon Camier, forcing him to retire early form the race. Michael Rutter and Michael Laverty also ran off the track with Rutter unable to re-join the action.

A reversal of fortunes in race two saw Laverty crash out of contention while leading the pack with a comfortable advantage. However, former Kirkby Mallory resident Rutter surprised the crowd with a seemingly easy victory. Tyre choice proved crucial for the second 30-lap battle of the day.

The race was declared wet but with a drying track and bright sunshine, selecting the right tyres enabled Rutter to reap the rewards. He was followed past the chequered flag by Shakey and Crutchlow, who enjoyed an impressive charge through the field in the second half of the race.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship race one result:
1. S. Byrne 28:33.049; 2. L. Haslam +1.024; 3. C. Crutchlow +1.147

Bennetts British Superbike Championship race two result:
1. M. Rutter 18:41.592; 2. S. Byrne +4.405; 3. C. Crutchlow +4.596

Bennetts British Superbike championship standings (after round six)
1. Byrne 280; 2. Crutchlow 183; 3. Camier 160; 4. Haslam 148; 5. M. Rutter 127; 6. Sykes 126; 7. Ellison 119; 8. Laverty 84; 9. Andrews 69; 10. Easton 62

View all news articles

TT Website All Rights Reserved