Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map


Author: Press Office
Posted on: Tuesday, Jun 02 2009

Once more there was a delay, this time for marshals being moved around the course but at 6.40pm, three remaining Sidecar newcomers were despatched for their sighting lap with German solo rider Rico Penzkofer following shortly afterwards.

At 7pm, Ian Hutchinson and Michael Rutter led off the line, both on their Superbikes, and they were followed in pairs by Cameron Donald and Bruce Anstey, Steve Plater and Guy Martin and Ian Lougher and Gary Johnson. John McGuinness was in the 7th pairing with Mats Nilsson, the latter on his Supersport machine. Plater was also on his Supersport bike whilst Donald, Johnson, Martin were out on their Superstock. James Hillier, fourth in the Superstock race at Thruxton on Sunday, was out on the Buildbase Kawasaki for his first TT lap of 2009.

News soon came through that Hutchinson had stopped at Ballacraine and was making his own way back but it was Bruce Anstey who completed a lap first at 122.471mph with Guy Martin going slightly quicker at 122.823mph. However, it was Ryan Farquhar who was quickest on the first lap at 124.44mph, the Dungannon rider reporting the Alf’s Motorcycles Kawasaki was working well.

John McGuinness was slightly slower at 124.35mph with Michael Rutter pulling in after the gear lever broke at Crosby leaving him stuck in 6th gear for the remainder of the lap. Hutchinson returned via the back roads and went back out on his Superstock machine.

On the 2nd lap though, McGuinness was on a flyer and he shot to the top of the leaderboard with a time of 128.067mph, Adrian Archibald and Conor Cummins slotting in to second and third at 126.743mph and 126.167mph respectively. Guy Martin was getting in to the groove with two laps in excess of 125mph as was Gary Johnson who lapped slightly slower. Michael Dunlop was going well on his 600 at 122.158mph a time bettered slightly by Hutchinson and Farquhar at 122.631mph and 122.433mph.

Newcomer Luis Carreira was the quickest of the first timers at 113.348mph with Michal Dopukil also going great guns at 110.121mph.

In the F2 Sidecars, Nick Crowe/Mark Cox led the field away followed by Dave Molyneux/Dan Sayle with John Holden/Andy Winkle jumping ahead of Tim Reeves/Patrick Farrance. Molyneux was quickest at 114.697mph but Crowe again failed to register a time.

Tonights times mean that it’s McGuinness and Molyneux who are making the early running for the Graham London Watches, awarded to the fastest solo and sidecar pair


Dainese Superbike TT

1 John McGuinness (HM Plant Honda) – 128.067mph

2 Adrian Archibald (AMA Suzuki) – 126.743mph

3 Conor Cummins (McAdoo Kawasaki Racing) – 122.167mph

4 Guy Martin (Hydrex Honda) – 125.431mph

5 Gary Johnson (Robinson Concrete Honda) – 125.187mph

6 Ryan Farquhar (Team Alfs Kawasaki) – 124.440mph

Relentless Supersport TT

1 Ian Hutchinson (600 Padgetts Honda) – 122.631mph

2 Ryan Farquhar (600 KMR Kawasaki) - 122.433mph

3 Michael Dunlop (600 Street Sweep/Marlow Yamaha) – 122.158mph

4 Steve Plater (HM Plant Honda) – 121.419mph

5 Mats Nilsson (600 Blackhorse Yamaha) – 121.057mph

6 Olie Linsdell (600 Flitwick Yamaha) – 120.141mph

Royal London 360◦ Superstock TT

1 John McGuinness (Padgetts Honda) – 124.684mph

2 Ian Hutchinson (Padgetts Honda) – 124.224mph

3 Bruce Anstey (Relentless by TAS Suzuki) – 123.529mph

4 Keith Amor (Wilson Craig Honda) – 123.460mph

5 Cameron Donald (Relentless by TAS Suzuki) – 122.905mph

6 Guy Martin (Hydrex Honda) – 122.823mph

Sure Sidecar TT

1 Dave Molyneux/Dan Sayle (A&J Racing Suzuki) – 114.697mph

2 Phil Dongworth/Gary Partridge (WAS Auto Centre Honda) – 112.400mph

3 Klaus Klaffenbock/Darren Hope (Manx Gas Racing Honda) – 109.943mph

4 John Holden/Andy Winkle (Suzuki) – 108.775mph

5 Greg Lambert/Dipash Chauhan (GLR Honda) – 108.512mph

6 Conrad Harrison/Kerry Williams (Printing Roller Services Honda) – 108.138mph

View all news articles

© TT Website All Rights Reserved