Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map

TT QUALIFYING REPORT: Wednesday 3rd June

Author: Press Office
Posted on: Thursday, Jun 04 2009

The session got underway at 6.22pm, just after its scheduled time, and it was Ian Hutchinson (Padgetts Honda) and Bruce Anstey (Relentless by TAS Suzuki) who were first to leave the line on their Superbike machines. Also on Superbikes were were Michael Rutter (Bathams Suzuki), Guy Martin (Hydrex Honda), Steve Plater (HM Plant Honda), Cameron Donald (Relentless by TAS Suzuki), Gary Johnson (Robinson Concrete Honda) and Ian Lougher (AIM Yamaha).

Adrian Archibald was the first rider not out on a Superbike, on his AMA Racing Superstock machine with Michael Dunlop the first of the 600s, on his Street Sweep Yamaha. John McGuinness was again around 15th to leave the line on his HM Plant Honda Superbike just after Ryan Farquhar, keen to get a flying lap on board the Alfs Kawasaki.

Hutchinson and Anstey completed the lap almost as they started - the Yorkshire rider slightly quicker at 127.963 compared to the New Zealander’s 127.849. Martin wasn’t far behind at 127.598 with both Plater and McGuinness over 126mph. Dunlop was flying on the 600 and his lap of 123.826 moved him to the top of the Relentless Supersport leaderboard. Rutter had also improved at 125.044mph but Donald had a relatively slow lap at 115.981 though and pulled in to the pits.

McGuinness was flying on his second lap though and a lap of 130.171 consolidated his status as the quickest man of the week and also meant it was only the second time ever that the 130mph barrier had been broken, albeit unofficially. Martin and Plater were also upping the pace at 129.168 and 128.543 respectively, the latter’s best ever lap around the Mountain Course. Also making a huge impression was Dunlop whose second lap of 125.065 was only fractionally outside Anstey’s Supersport lap record.

Anstey and Donald were again encountering problems though. Anstey’s lap of 117.81 on his Superstock machine was compromised by problems with the rear shock although he did get back out on his Superbike, lapping at 127.884mph towards the end of the session. Donald, meanwhile, was clearly in difficulty on his Supersport bike at 90.039mph.

Privateers Derek Brien and John Burrows were going well, the duo lapping well in excess of 123mph, both personal best laps whilst Spanish rider Antonio Maeso posted a first ever 120mph lap at 120.342mph.

In the Royal London 360◦ Superstock class, it was Hutchinson was quickest at 126.849 from Keith Amor, who again set a personal best lap at 126.769, and Carl Rennie at 124.609.

As mentioned, Dunlop topped the Relentless Supersport times with his stunning 125mph+ lap with Hutchinson second at 122.976 and Mats Nilsson third on 121.817. In what was a good night for the Dunlop family, William was fourth fastest with a speed of 121.445mph, his first 120mph+ lap.

Luis Carreira was the quickest newcomer tonight, putting in two laps above 118mph, the best a fine 118.751mph. Steve Mercer lapped at 116.848, Ben Wylie 116.440, Yoshinari Matsushita 114.386, Adrian Clark 112.961, James Vanderhaar 111.106 and Marc Fissette 111.054. In the Relentless Supersport class, Wylie lapped at 115.497, Michal Dopukil 115.160, James Ford 113.188, Rico Penzkofer 112.476 and Jenny Tinmouth 107.415.

Nick Crowe and Mark Cox were once more first on the road for the Sure Sidecar class whilst Dave Molyneux and Dan Sayle opted out of the session. Crowe put in two laps on his HM Plant Honda, the first just above 113mph but the second at a superb 116.063. John Holden/Andy Winkle were second quickest tonight at 112.344 with Tim Reeves and Patrick Farrance having two trouble-free laps, the best at 111.27.

Although the speeds have increased, there’s no change at the top of the Graham Watch leaderboard with McGuinness and Crowe and Cox continuing to hold sway.

Olie Linsdell came off at Glen Duff and was taken by airmed to Nobles with leg injuries. Mickey Fitzpatrick was reported off at Braddan Bridge but was seen by a Hogg Ambulance representative and reported OK.

Graham Watch – Solo Leaderboard

1 John McGuinness (HM Plant Honda) – 130.171mph

2 Guy Martin (Hydrex Honda) – 129.168mph

3 Steve Plater (HM Plant Honda) – 128.453mph

Graham Watch – Sidecar Leaderboard

1 Nick Crowe/Mark Cox (HM Plant Honda) – 116.063mph

2 Dave Molyneux/Dan Sayle (A&J Racing Suzuki) – 114.697mph

3 Phil Dongworth/Gary Partridge (WAS Autocentre Honda) – 112.400mph

View all news articles

© TT Website All Rights Reserved