Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map

Fine Racing at Billown in Classic Conditions

Author: Press Office
Posted on: Monday, May 31 2010

The Blackford’s TT Classic Road Races enjoyed ideal conditions for racing on the 4.25-mile Billown Course.

The first race of the morning session, the Lightweight 250cc was a Ewan Hamilton benefit leading from the change of the lights for the full nine laps, taking a 1.4 seconds lead over second placeman Mike Hose and adding initially four seconds a lap to his advantage until three quarters distance when the gap became six seconds per lap.

At the conclusion of the 38.35 mile race the winner’s advantage was 37 seconds.

Third in the early stages was Tom Jackson, but he succumbed to Dave Edwards on lap six and the finished fourth.

Saturday’s 250cc Singles Race winner, 82-year-old Ted Fenwick riding the Ducati again finished eighth.

Second race of the morning, the Senior witnessed the magnificent sight and sound of the MV Agusta ridden by Alan Oversby to a start-finish victory from Watty Brown and Mike Hose.

The winning margin at the end of the nine laps was 26.8 seconds. Roy Richardson was second for the first four laps, slowly dropping back as the effects of Saturday’s race spill at Church Bends took their toll on his ankle to finish sixth.

Whilst the MV was the star machine in this race, it was Scot Watty Brown who stole the show climbing from mid-field on the opening lap to runner-up.

The final race of the morning, the Sidecars over six laps saw newcomers Vince and Phil Biggs take a 45 seconds victory from previous winners Ralf Engelhardt and Winfried Viecenz, the only two finishers from seven starters.

--- / ---

The first of the afternoon races was the nine lap Junior (350cc) race, which provided Mike Hose with his ninth victory at this prestigious meeting. However, it was Alan Oversby who took the initial lead and was still leading until he was forced to pull in at Cross Four Ways on the fourth circuit with a smoking engine.

This handed the lead to Mike Hose, with an advantage of 9.5 seconds over Chris Palmer and Steve Ferguson. By three-quarters distance Hose had increased his advantage to 22 seconds over Palmer, as newcomer Ken Davis moved into third ahead of Ferguson.

At the chequered flag, it was Mike Hose, Chris Palmer and Ken Davis, the AJS of Palmers of the filling in the Honda Sandwich.

The penultimate race of the programme was a combined Unlimited and Post Classic event, also over nine laps, a race that proved to be one of attrition, machine wise.

Pre raced favourite, Guy Martin took the lead which held comfortably until the fifth lap when his Suzuki gave up the ghost. Second placeman for the first four laps, Mike Hose took over the leadership battle, but only lasted one further lap, until his machine expired at Ballabeg, letting Alan Oversby take the initiative, with Roy Richardson chasing hard, reduction the gap between them to 1.39 seconds at the end of the seventh lap to 0.620 at the conclusion of the penultimate circuit. The Blackpool ace took the lead on the final lap, taking the chequered flag 2.42 seconds adrift.

Father and son duo, Paul and James Coward enjoyed their only personal duel in the early stages, until father Paul stopped with machine problems; whilst son James went on to take the final podium place in third The Unlimited Class winner, was Alan Oversby, followed by Dave Madsen-Mygdal and Allan Brew and the Post Classic victor Roy Richardson, with James Coward second and Steven Dobbie third.

Guy Martin set a new lap record in the Post Classic at 99.910mph, whilst Alan Oversby set a new lap record in the Unlimited Class at 94.880mph.

The concluding race of the 2010 Blackford’s Pre TT Classic Road Races was a Consolation Race for non-qualifiers in the previous Junior, Senior and Post Classic Races. The Podium placing's went to Bernie Wright, Tony Russell and John A Jones.

A great days racing in near perfect conditions, and most importantly no incidents. We now look forward to the next event at Billown, The Manx Telecom Post TT Road Races on Saturday 12th June.

View all news articles

© TT Website All Rights Reserved