Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map


Author: Press Office
Posted on: Wednesday, Oct 27 2010

"Milestones of the Mountain”

Nostalgia festival created, celebrating great riders, historic machines and magic moments in the TT Mountain Course’s history.

The Isle of Man Government’s Department of Economic Development has assembled a mouth-watering line-up of machines and riders to celebrate the TT Races Mountain Course Centenary in 2011.

The legendary 37¾ mile circuit, which the riders still race around today, is widely recognised as the world’s most challenging race circuit. It includes the 9-mile Snaefell Mountain section from Ramsey to the Creg Ny Baa Hotel, which was first used in 1911, four years after the first TT Race on the Isle of Man in 1907.

The anniversary celebrations, in June 2011, will include recreations of the landmark events and achievements in a spectacular parade to celebrate and honour many of the most notable moments, and many of the all-time great riders who have ridden the course over the last 100 years. The parade, which will take place on Senior Race Day on Friday 10th June, will feature some of the greatest-ever TT riders and some of the most iconic and exotic machines from every decade of the TT’s history in a definitive tribute.

Riders lined up to participate include Philip McCallen, recognising his four wins in a week, multi World Champion Phil Read, who won eight TT Races, and Italian legend Giacomo Agostini, who will ride his MV Augusta.

Current riders will include 15-time champion John McGuinness, the first person to clock 130mph, which he achieved in 2007, Ian Hutchinson who made history in this year’s TT by becoming the first man to win five races in a week and 14-time TT Sidecar champion Dave Molyneux.

Many other notable riders and moments from the past 100 years will also be recognised with appropriate replacements representing riders unable to take part. These will be linked by nationality, manufacturer, relationship or achievement and will celebrate legendary names such as David Jefferies, Geoff Duke OBE, Joey Dunlop MBE, OBE, Stanley Woods, Freddie Frith OBE and Mike Hailwood MBE.

Keith Amor will represent fellow Scotsman Bob McIntyre on a Gilera, recognising his achievement as the first man to record a 100mph average lap speed in 1957 while Hawick’s Steve Hislop, 11 time TT winner, will be represented by Stuart Easton, who was also born in the Scottish borders town, who will be riding a Norton commemorating the 1992 Senior Race, widely acknowledged as the greatest TT Race of all time.

Every notable machine will be represented, from Indian, the first Senior TT Race winner on the Mountain Course, first Sidecar Race winner Douglas and marques from yesteryear such as AJS through to modern names such as Ducati, BMW and the leading Japanese manufacturers.

The Department of Economic Development is also working closely with Yamaha UK and the Yamaha Classic Racing Team on celebrations to commemorate Yamaha’s 50th anniversary of competing on the Isle of Man with high profile Yamaha riders taking part in the company’s own dedicated parade.

The programme is part of two days of nostalgia on Thursday 9th and Friday 10th June under the banner “Milestones of the Mountain” celebrating great riders, historic machines and magic moments in the TT’s history. The two-day mini festival will also include a “Day of Champions” at the TT Grandstand, featuring many of the world’s greatest current and former motorcycling champions. There will also be spectacular events and celebrations on the promenade as part of the scheduled promenade entertainment and a Black Tie dinner with motorcycling legends and VIP’s.

A special commemorative logo reflecting the Mountain Course Centenary has been created and will feature throughout the year on merchandising and print materials. The Isle of Man Post Office has also developed a limited edition set of stamps featuring the ten greatest races of all time, decided by a panel of experts including current and former riders.

Nostalgia fans will also be treated to a Centenary exhibition organised by Manx National Heritage at the House of Manannan, in Peel in the West of the Island. The exhibition, which opens on Saturday 28th May, will look at some of the highlights and the hidden histories of the world’s oldest still-functioning motorcycle racing circuit.

Featuring classic machinery, leathers and other memorabilia, highlights will include the exploits of TT legends such as John McGuinness, Dave Molyneux, Geoff Duke and Jock Taylor. In addition to covering some great racing moments the exhibition will also look at the buildings around the course which have become world famous, as well as other events which have taken place over this 37 ¾ miles of tarmac.

Geoff Corkish, MBE, MHK, Political Member, Isle of Man Tourism commented:

“We are working hard to present a superb and exciting stream of events throughout the TT period to fully capture a fantastic milestone in this iconic and worldwide spectacle of motor cycle sport.

He continued:

“It remains the world’s greatest motor cycle sporting event and we will not disappoint the thousands of fans from around the world who we will be welcoming to our Island to join our celebrations.”

“Milestones of the Mountain”

Celebrating great riders, historic machines and magic moments in the TT Mountain Course’s history Milestones to be represented

Oliver Godfrey, First Senior TT Mountain Course Race Winner

Freddie Dixon, 1923 First Sidecar TT Race Winner

Stanley Woods - 10 times TT Winner

Jimmie Simpson - first rider to lap at 60mph, 70mph and 80mph

Freddie Frith - first rider to lap at 90mph

Geoff Duke – 6 times TT Winner, 6 times World Champion

Bob McIntyre - first rider to lap at 100mph

Honda become the first Japanese manufacturer to contest the TT winning 155 times

German dominance of the Sidecar TT in 60’s

John Surtees records the first of his 6 TT races, winning the Senior TT in 1956. He finished his career as the only two and four wheeled champion

Bill Ivy – 2 time TT winner and first rider to lap at over 100mph on a 125cc machine – a lap record which stood for 21 years

Phil Read – 8 times TT winner, 8 times World Champion

Rose Hanks – first lady to stand on the TT podium in 1968

Giacomo Agostini – 10 times TT winner and 15 times World Champion

Mike Hailwood - 14 times TT winner, 10 times World Champion

John Williams – first rider to lap at 110mph

Jock Taylor – 4 time TT winner, lap record holder for 9 years

Joey Dunlop – 26 times TT winner, 5 times World Champion

Steve Hislop – first rider to lap at 120mph

1992 Senior TT Race between Steve Hislop and Carl Fogarty regarded as the best ever TT Race

Philip McCallen – first rider to win 4 TT Races in one week, 11 times TT winner

David Jefferies – 9 times TT winner

Dave Molyneux – 14 times TT winner

John McGuinness – 15 times TT winner, first rider to lap at 130mph

Fastest Clean Emissions Bike Moto Czysz

Ian Hutchinson – only rider to win 5 TT wins in one week, 8 times TT winner

View all news articles

© TT Website All Rights Reserved