Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map

TT 2005 Practice Bulletin no. 2

Author: Department of Tourism and Leisure
Posted on: Monday, May 30 2005

Monday May 30

Conditions were ideal for the second practice session of the week for the 2005 Isle of Man TT Races with light winds and high cloud, only intermittent light showers spoiling the party.

First to complete a lap was three-time TT winner Adrian Archibald from Ballymoney and he set the pace for the evening with a speed of 122.126 miles an hour on his Superbike Suzuki. Close behind, also on his Superbike was ultimate lap record holder John McGuinness at 121.965.

Archibald went even faster on his second practice lap – at 122.930 – but McGuinness topped that with a lap at 125.041 which was to prove the fastest of the night. Ryan Farquhar then recorded a speed of 123.368 on his Superbike Kawasaki to move in behind McGuinness.

Archibald switched to his Superstock Suzuki and led the class at 121.899 followed by Richard Britton at 119.787 and Bruce Anstey (119.571). Farquhar’s 120.969 on his Kawasaki was fastest in the Supersport class with McGuinness (119.808) and Martin Finnegan (119.460) close behind.

The Isle of Man crew of Nick Crowe and Darren Hope claimed the two fastest laps in the sidecars on their Honda with circuits of 111.411 and 109.757. Next fastest were Gary Horspole and Mark Cox at 107.004.

A total of 234 machines went through scrutineering – 19 Superstocks, 81 Supersport, 65 Superbikes, 5 in the Senior Class and 64 sidecars.

Leukaemia Research is benefiting from one of the competitors in the Sidecar TT. Nigel Smith from Castletown and Rugby’s Chris Lake donate any sponsorship money to the charity and have already banked £2,000 from this year’s meeting. Nigel has so far raised over £20,000 during the 10 years he has been competing in the TT.

View all news articles

© TT Website All Rights Reserved