Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map

Sixth Superbike victory for Kiyo

Author: HM Plant Honda Press Release
Posted on: Monday, Jun 06 2005

Race one at the 2.172-mile North Yorkshire circuit saw a clear HM Plant Honda Racing one-two as the black and orange CBR1000RR Fireblades dominated proceedings. Rutter took the holeshot from pole position and led for the first five laps before Kiyonari passed him and began to pull out an advantage, setting a new lap record on lap nine. The Japanese rider emerged victorious – more than five seconds ahead of his team-mate.

The second leg looked as though it would be a repeat performance with Kiyonari grabbing the lead and maintaining this position for the first 10 laps before the red flag was waved and a restarted wet race was declared. Thirty-two-year-old Rutter had worked his way up from fourth place to second position and was within 0.9 seconds of the other HM Plant Honda.

With starting positions being taken from the end of lap eight, the Michelin-shod HRC factory-backed Fireblades headed up the grid for the 14-lap restart. However, it proved more difficult for the duo to dominate as they were caught up in a nail-biting five-way dice for the lead with eventual race winner Gregorio Lavilla, Glen Richards and Steve Plater.

It looked as though it would be second for Kiyonari and third for Rutter before a last lap pass from the Midlander turned the tables.

Michael Rutter: “I’m happy with my results today, particularly as this is HM Plant’s local round of the championship. The Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade is amazing at this circuit. My aim for Croft was to finish on the podium and extend my championship lead and I’ve done both.”

Ryuichi Kiyonari: “Today was difficult because Michael [Rutter] was pushing me all the way in both races. It was fantastic to get another win for HM Plant Honda Racing, but now I need to concentrate on improving on third position overall in the points table. I’m already looking forward to the next round of the championship.”

Race one: 1. R. Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda Racing) 29:58.160; 2. M. Rutter (HM Plant Honda Racing) +5.382; 3. G. Lavilla (Ducati) +17.352; 4. M. Laverty (Honda) +24.018; 5. G. Richards (Kawasaki) +26.001; 6. L. Haslam (Ducati) +26.474; 7. J. Rea (Red Bull Honda) +29.683; 8. J. Haydon (Yamaha) +35.204; 9. G. Mason (Honda) +35.477; 10. D. Thomas (Kawasaki) +36.541

Fastest lap: 1:20.931 – Kiyonari (new lap record)

Race two: 1. G. Lavilla (Ducati) 20:10.015; 2. M. Rutter (HM Plant Honda Racing) +0.775; 3. R. Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda Racing) +0.984; 4. G. Richards (Kawasaki) +2.132; 5. G. Mason (Honda) +2.902; 6. D. Thomas (Kawasaki) +7.024; 7. S. Plater (Kawasaki) +21.153; 8. K. Clarke (Honda) +21.670; 9.S. Brogan (Honda) +21.845; 10. J. Laverty (Honda) +32.538

Fastest lap: 1:21.489 – Lavilla

Championship points: 1. Rutter – 235; 2. Lavilla – 190; 3. Kiyonari – 182; 4. Richards – 138; 5. Haslam – 130; 6. Harris – 102; 7. Thomas – 85; 8. Emmett – 79; 9. Mason – 72; 10. Smart – 68

View all news articles

© TT Website All Rights Reserved