Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map

MGP press release no. 4

Author: Department of Tourism and Leisure
Posted on: Wednesday, Jun 29 2005

It’s going to be a star-studded Manx Grand Prix.

Two past winners of the TT and at least 14 former winners of the MGP are included in the entry list, details of which are just to hand.

The two former winners of the TT are Chris Palmer, who took victory in the 2003 and 2004 Ultra Lightweight; and New Yorker Dave Roper, who is still the only American to win, having taken the honours in the 500cc class of the 1984 Historic TT, the only one of its type ever run.

Chris will ride Fred Walmsley’s Manx Norton in the Senior Classic, while Dave will again be aboard the Team Obsolete G50 Matchless in the same race.

Other TT stars entered for this year’s Manx include Richard Britton, Steve Linsdell, Johnny Barton, James Crumpton, Seamus Greene, Mark Parrett and Adrian McFarland.

Fancied runners for the main races include Ian Pattinson, Alan Jackson, Kenny McCrae, Gavin Bell, John Burrows, Barry Davidson and Robert McCrum, the latter also riding in the main Lightweight.

Past winners of the Manx are headed by Mark Parrett, who was unable to ride in the TT this year because of injury. He won the Senior MGP in 2002 on Des Collins’ 750cc Kawasaki. He will ride in the Classic, but his machine is, as yet, unspecified.

Other past winners include Richard Britton, Bud Jackson, Seamus Greene, Chris McGahan, Barry Davidson, Norman Kneen, Derek Whalley, Roy Richardson, Barry Wood, Eddie Byers, John Goodall, Pat Sefton and Brian Purdy.

Besides Palmer, Barton and Roper, others likely to be prominent in the Classic include Alan Oversby, John Loder, Allan Brew, Ewan Hamilton, Bob Price and Doug Snow, the latter doubling up with a ride in the main Ultra Lightweight race.

Nearly 50 Isle of Man residents are headed by Palmer, Barton, McGahan, Whalley and Wood, with Dave Madsen-Mygdal, Paul Corrin, Tony Cawte and Stephen Oates expected to be prominent.

There are eight female competitors. The fastest ever around the TT Course, Maria Costello at 114.73mph, is the top entry. The others are Carolynn Sells, Gail Musson, Elle Forrest, Sally Harmer, Virginia Power, Kay Streets and Marie Hodgson.

Besides Roper, foreign competitors include Jochen Trockel, Uwe Kramp and Hans-Georg Stutz from Germany, James Stewart from America and Paul Dobbs from New Zealand.

View all news articles

© TT Website All Rights Reserved