Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map

Shakey takes sensational second on the grid

Author: Rizla Suzuki Press Release
Posted on: Sunday, Jul 16 2006

The Rizla Suzuki ace was in provisional pole position for a handful of seconds before Honda’s Jonathan Rea crossed the line to deny him pole position by just 0.038secs.

Shakey is the sole Rizla Suzuki racer participating at the 1.27-mile Fife circuit near Edinburgh while his team mate James Haydon continues his recovery from a broken foot and injured shoulder sustained at Snetterton in Norfolk four weeks ago.

Bright sunshine and warm temperatures kept track conditions perfect for bike racing and the top 14 riders were separated by just one second. Superbike racing starts at 1300 on Sunday, July 26th and will be screened on ITV1 at 1500 and then on Sky Sports 2 at 2100.

“I was trying hard and it paid off; now I am only one place away from where I want to be and happy with my starting position.

“On my last run there was a yellow flag being waved for a few laps and I had to hold back otherwise I may have been able to go a bit faster. Either way this gives me a decent starting position and my intentions are to win both races tomorrow.”

Niall Mackenzie, Race Operations Manager:
“Shakey has struggled a bit on qualifying tyres all year but today he overcame that problem. This morning he was competitive on race rubber but when he tried a qualifier he actually went slower. This afternoon he set out determined to make use of the grippier rubber and it worked.

“The good weather is forecast to stay for tomorrow and Rizla Suzuki is on the ascendancy. It’s going to be a great couple of races and we have a real chance to fight for the podium starting from the first row.”

Qualifying Times: 1: Jonathan Rea (Honda) 48.317, 2: SHANE BYRNE (RIZLA SUZUKI) +0.038, 3: Leon Haslam (Ducati) +0.093, 4: Gregorio Lavilla (Ducati) +0.247, 5: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Honda) +0.407, 6: Michael Laverty (Honda) +0.438, 7: Michael Rutter (Honda) +0.468, 8: Karl Harris (Honda) +0.571, 9: Tommy Hill (Yamaha) +0.667, 10: Glen Richards (Honda) +0.728.

Audi Performance Award (After eight of 13 Rounds): 1: Lavilla 54, 2: Haslam 53, 3: Harris 37, 4: Kiyonari 31 5: Rea 29, 6: Rutter 28, 7: SHANE BYRNE (RIZLA SUZUKI) 20, 8: JAMES HAYDON (RIZLA SUZUKI) 12, 9: Dean Thomas (Kawasaki) 10, Laverty 8.

View all news articles

© TT Website All Rights Reserved