Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map


Posted on: Wednesday, Jun 06 2007

The flying Kiwi shattered the lap record from a standing start and went quicker still on the second lap to take command of the race, eventually running out the winner by 40 seconds. HM Plant Honda riders John McGuinness and Ian Hutchinson occupied the second and third steps on the podium.

Anstey made his intentions clear from the start and had soon overhauled the much fancied MV Agusta of Martin Finnegan to open up a five second lead over nearest rival McGuinness. He continued to extend his advantage throughout the lap and no wonder – he completed the first lap at an unbelievable speed of 128.297mph. This gave him a nine second lead over Monday’s race winner McGuinness with Hutchinson just edging out Guy Martin for third.

With the Island bathed in glorious weather, Anstey and his Relentless Suzuki continued to press home their advantage and he hoisted the lap record to even new heights on the second lap, a lap of 128.400mph seeing his lead grow to a now commanding 23 seconds. McGuinness was still in second with Martin edging ahead of Hutchinson by the time they reached the Bungalow. However, it was to no avail as the Hydrex Honda ran out of petrol at Creg ny Baa whilst sixth placed Ryan Farquhar suffered the same misfortune at Bedstead.

Adrian Archibald was a first lap retirement so behind Finnegan, Mark Parrett, James McBride and Conor Cummins were having a tremendous dice for fifth with the excellent newcomer Gary Johnson up to eleventh.

At the front of the pack though it was that man Anstey who was powering ahead and he added to his lead between each and every checkpoint, also leading the race on the road. He took the chequered flag at the end of the four laps 40 seconds clear for his third successive Superstock TT victory and sixth TT win in total. For once, McGuinness was powerless to respond but he was still able to take an excellent second place, the 23rd podium of his now legendary TT career.

Hutchinson was equally comfortable in third, repeating Monday’s result with a disappointed Finnegan doing likewise in fourth. The battle for fifth went right to the very last lap but it was young Cummins who prevailed with Parrett and McBride taking superb sixth and seventh place finishes, the latter named chalking up his best ever TT result. Ian Pattinson was another rider to record a personal best as he came home eighth with Gary Carswell and Ian Armstrong completing the top ten. Carswell’s last lap of 124.621mph was the fastest ever recorded by a Manxman.

Johnson was the best of the newcomers in 12th with Steve Plater claiming the last of the silver replicas in 15th. Keith Amor finished in 18th.

Shaun Harris was taken to hospital after an accident at Union Mills. He was later reported as critical.

After one lap of practice for both solos and sidecars, the Lap of Honour with some of the TT’s most illustrious names taking part completed the day. Jim Redman, Luigi Taveri, Tony Rutter, Mick Grant, Chas Mortimer, Johnny Rea, Kel Carruthers, Dennis Ireland, Stuart Graham, Tommy Robb, Trevor Nation, Dick Greasley and Nigel Rollason were just some of the star competitors taking part as the Centenary event’s celebrations continue.

There’s no respite for the riders with the 4-lap PokerStars Supersport race getting underway at 10.45am. The second Bavaria Sidecar race follows at 1.00pm.

View all news articles

© TT Website All Rights Reserved