Main Features Interviews Forums Shop Links Contacts

Visitor Info
TT History
TT Map


Author: Rizla Suzuki Press Release
Posted on: Monday, Oct 15 2007

The Rizla Suzuki racer, starting from sixth on the grid, took fifth place in the opening race before raising his game for the 26th and final race of the year in the afternoon and coming home third to stand on the podium for the first time.

After a heavy crash in practice yesterday, Chris Walker showed immense courage to take to the track with massive bruising and in considerable pain. Heroically, from 11th on the grid, he finished in seventh and sixth places in front of the huge crowd that basked in glorious October sunshine.

'Stalker' finished seventh and Crutchlow ninth in the 2007 British Superbike Championship.

Ducati's Gregorio Lavilla won both races today while Honda's Ryuichi Kiyonari won his second consecutive British Superbike title.

Rizla Suzuki is in action again next Sunday, October 21st, at the Race of the Year at Mallory Park in Leicestershire. Crutchlow will be joined by Rizla Suzuki guest rider Jenny Tinmouth on the super-fast GSX-R1000 race bikes.

Cal Crutchlow:

"At the start of the season I would have settled for a learning year and a couple of top-six finishes but half-way through I had to have a rethink. My Rizla Suzuki has been greased lightning and the podium was my target - and one that I hit this afternoon in the very last race of the season. I cannot explain how happy I am.

"The truth is that the podium and my fantastic run of results are down to Rizla Suzuki and my team of technicians - thanks to all of my crew, the team sponsors and all the fans for their support. I'll be raising a glass of champagne to you all this evening and hope to see you again next year."

Chris Walker:

"I am pleased with fifth and seventh today as my physical condition is less than ideal after my big crash yesterday. Every time I ran into Paddock Hill bend the change in elevation and suspension felt as though I was being kicked in the stomach and I couldn't get my breath back for half a lap. It's a shame because I am sure a completely fit Stalker could have fought at the sharp end today.

"Thank you to Rizla Suzuki, my crew and all the Stalker fans for their support this year on my return to British Superbikes. It has been a roller-coaster ride and a lot of fun and I have thoroughly enjoyed myself - thanks to everyone!"

Simon Buckmaster - Team Manager:

"Cal has been threatening to get on to the rostrum for the last four or five rounds and no one deserves it more than him; he and his crew have worked incredibly hard and deserve to be drinking champagne. It has been a strong first year in Superbikes for Cal and he has been a pleasure to work with - I think there is no doubt he is a future champion.

"Chris has really impressed everyone with his gutsy performance and results. He had to be lifted on and off his Rizla Suzuki race bike but still rode like the hungriest rider on the grid. It has been a challenging year for him re-learning the circuits, adapting to different tyres and a new team and I am sure he will be stronger and quicker in the future.

"Thank you to all of the Rizla Suzuki team staff, sponsors and partners for all their support in 2007. With the GSX-R1000 we have built a strong platform that both riders have proved can run at the front and with development over the winter I am confident it will be a title challenger next year. Finally - and most importantly - thank you to all the Rizla Suzuki fans; it's your support that keeps us going."

Race One Results:
1: Gregorio Lavilla (Ducati) 23:35.208
2: Jonathan Rea (Honda) +2.499
3: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Honda) +3.390
4: Leon Haslam (Ducati) +3.450
5: Cal Crutchlow (Rizla Suzuki) +3.673
6: Shane Byrne (Honda) +4.193
7: Chris Walker (Rizla Suzuki) +16.715
8: Michael Rutter (Kawasaki) +16.818
9: Simon Andrews (Yamaha) +20.523
10: Steve Plater (Yamaha) +20.581

Race Two Results:
1: Lavilla 15:22.873
2: Rea +2.182
3: Cal Crutchlow (Rizla Suzuki) +2.486
4: Kiyonari +3.592
5: Haslam +3.809
6: Chris Walker (Rizla Suzuki) +9.724
7: Sykes +9.875
8: Karl Harris (Honda) +16.214
9: James Haydon (Kawasaki) +18.331
10: Rutter +18.396

Final Championship Positions:
1: Kiyonari 433
2: Rea 407
3: Haslam 387
4: Lavilla 368
5: Byrne 293
6: Sykes 279
7: Chris Walker (Rizla Suzuki) 225
8: Leon Camier (Honda) 199
9: Cal Crutchlow (Rizla Suzuki) 152
10: Tommy Hill (Yamaha) 138

View all news articles

TT Website All Rights Reserved